Being Wiccan in a Christian World

I am a freelance writer, and even though my publication list is somewhat small and hasn’t grown much recently, I still go looking for open contests or writing markets. One of the things that often strike me is a faith requirement. It’s standard practice to do your research on a publisher/market/company before submitting anything, and if the company has a Christian slant, it’s going to be right there on their About page. I’ve seen a number of companies host contests with themes like faith and perseverance and strength. I always wonder what would happen if I were to submit an article within their guidelines, but from a Wiccan perspective. I’m still writing about what they wanted, but at that point I’ve broken an unwritten rule. Christians want Christian literature.

I feel like this is an area for experimentation and getting word out there about what Wicca really is, and who practices it. How different are two perspectives about having faith in a greater being? They might differ on some points, visualize that deity differently, label themselves differently, but both are fundamentally focused on faith. That being said, can one call the other wrong because it is different, and can two faiths at such odds be at all alike?

All paths lead to the same mountaintop, and when we ALL realize that, the world will be a better place.

About Ayslyn'sCorner

I am an eclectic Pagan bordering on atheist who has made her way through a number of different spiritual spaces. You might wonder what a person self-identifying as an atheist has to discuss in a religion/spiritual context – and, well, so do I. That’s one of the things I aim to explore on Ayslyn's Corner. Check out Ayslyn's Corner at http://www.ayslynscorner.wordpress.com Check out Invisible Ink Blog at http://www.whitneycarter.wordpress.com Check out wombs in rebellion at http://wombsinrebellion.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Spiritual Question, Wicca and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Being Wiccan in a Christian World

  1. Madison Woods says:

    I’d like to invite you to join us on Fridays with a 100-word story. We call ourselves the Friday Fictioneers. You can get an idea of how it works if you visit my post: http://madisonwoods.wordpress.com/2011/09/23/100-word-fridayfictioneers/ and if you visit the tab on my blog titled “Flash Fiction” you’ll see a collection of my own stories. I think you’d lend a good flavor to the mix we’ve got going so far!

    • Thank you so much for the invite! 🙂 It sounds like fun, but keeping a story under 100 words is so challenging. I tried a short story under 500 a couple of weeks ago and it was a lot harder than I expected. So it looks like there’s some kind of theme every weekend, though you don’t have to stick to it?

      • Madison Woods says:

        The goal of 100 words isn’t hard and fast, but the point of it is to become adept at choosing stronger verbs and phrases to get a scene set. Not everyone sticks to the goal, and not everyone uses the photo prompt. My themes generally have dark undertones even if the photos are beautiful…I can’t seem to help it, LOL, it’s just what I write. The other reason for staying very short is so that we can visit each other’s blogs and make comments without having to spend a whole day doing it.

        The participants range from very new writers still trying to figure it out to very seasoned. I try to leave encouragement on each one, but if someone is seeking true crit, I’m happy to provide that as well (but only for the first 100 words). If no preference is stated, I don’t crit.

  2. I think I’ll have a go at it. 🙂 Though whether or not my brain functions on a Friday afternoon after work is up for debate lol.

Leave a Reply

