Merry Meet! Today’s post is something a little different. Show of hands how many us decorated mason jars with squares of tissue paper to make a decorative candle holder as children? I’m going to assume at this point that you guys aren’t looking at me really funny. This little project always fascinated me because I love color and I love candles. Now, as an adult, I use candles a lot, inside of rituals and out. I’m a writer and a major bookworm, and it’s second nature to light a candle when I go to do either. There’s just something about that little flame alight that speaks to me—like as long as it burns, my creativity will last.

Given my love of candles, I usually save the jars once the wax is gone. As such, I’ve got a lot of Plain Jane jars lying around here. Still fascinated with color, I decided to revisit this childhood memory. And here’s the result.  🙂 Please enjoy and tell me about your now-Wiccan related childhood memories.

Needed:

Clipboard

Wet rag

Heat resistant jars

Liquid glue

Tissue paper

Tea light

Scissors

1)      You need a hard surface other than your countertop. I used a clipboard. It’s just easier because then the tissue paper doesn’t stick as much as it would to paper towels. Keep the wet rag handy as well, to wipe the glue off your fingers.

2)      Choose the colors you want to color the holder. I chose fall colors, given the season.

3)      Cut the tissue paper into squares. I did strips first, and then cut those into squares. The squares don’t have to be perfect.

4)      Make sure your glass jar is clean inside and out before you start gluing. The next step is literally to paste on the squares.

5)      Be careful with the glue. Use enough to get the paper to stick, but don’t get it on your hands and keep working. The paper tears that way. Layer the squares over each other so that you can’t see any glass. The glue will dry clear so it’s okay if it seeps out from the edges of the paper. It’s also okay if you end up with corners over the top because we’re gonna cut them off at the end.

6)      Once you’ve got the entire jar covered with little squares, carefully smear a little more glue over the top of the paper, to seal the corners down.

7)      Let the candle jar dry. When I was a kid, we put them in the oven to set the glue, but I couldn’t find anything online for the temperature to set the oven to or how long to leave the jar in there. And since I don’t want shattered glass in the oven, I just let it air dry for a couple of hours.

The result is the beautiful little jar pictured at the top. I’ve already started a little tea light burning in it.

