Determining how you want to visualize the Goddess and God

Wicca is a faith with very few set rules. While we acknowledge the existence of a Goddess and a God, that’s the only solid. Everything else about those deities, even what they look like, is changeable. Wicca is unique in this aspect, especially compared to Christianity’s Jesus, who is easily identifiable even to those who are less than familiar with that religion. Jesus’ physical appearance doesn’t play much of a role in the practice because, I believe, it’s static. There’s no room for practitioners to create an image of that deity because changing him would be viewed as a perversion of what Jesus stood for.

Visualizing the Goddess and God in a way that speaks to Wiccans and Pagans is an important part of the faith. After all, your goal is to commune with the All, and many of us are Wiccan because we could not connect with a stoic image we had no part in creating.

My visualization of the Mother Goddess is always in flux. I like to picture Her as a beautiful woman with glowing skin, sitting beside a woodland pool, surrounded by animals and flowering plants. I see Her enjoying the dappling sun and the slight breeze—then opening Her eyes and smiling at me. Sometimes She sits on her great throne in a regal, white dress, holding a conference with the powers that be and Her children. Other times, She is angry, and storms brew in Her eyes.

But that is just the human representation. It’s much more complex than that. I see the Goddess in everything around me. Every piece of Nature is a facet of Her. Every storm that rolls through is Her. I see Her in others’ actions, their understandings, the things they still have to learn. She is the essence of the world around me. She is as much a part of the tree as the tree is.

How do you visualize the Goddess and the God?

About Ayslyn'sCorner

I am an eclectic Pagan bordering on atheist who has made her way through a number of different spiritual spaces. You might wonder what a person self-identifying as an atheist has to discuss in a religion/spiritual context – and, well, so do I. That’s one of the things I aim to explore on Ayslyn's Corner. Check out Ayslyn's Corner at http://www.ayslynscorner.wordpress.com Check out Invisible Ink Blog at http://www.whitneycarter.wordpress.com Check out wombs in rebellion at http://wombsinrebellion.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Wicca and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Determining how you want to visualize the Goddess and God

  1. Vaettr says:

    The Goddess is still the triple goddess, with no real associations to single goddesses, just the maiden, mother and crone. The God though, I see as Herne, Cernunnos or the Horned One. This is how I see him and how he appears to me in my dreams.

  2. Carlette says:

    Hmm…I’ve never actually visualized the goddess. I “feel” her as a moving, loving, spirit, much like running water – invisible but always there, running smoothly around me.

  3. Carlette says:

    Oh, one more thing – I think when we start to visualize deity in the human realm, that’s when things get confusing for people – is she white or black, is she blond or dark, is she fat or skinny? That’s why Jesus’s image gets confusing when a different people try to change his likeness to their own – another group of people don’t accept it. I remember once a guy adamantly arguing that he believed Jesus had blond hair and blue eyes when we know according to the region where he was born, that is most likely very impossible. But that is how Davinci depicted him – in his OWN likeness.

    • I agree that people by nature are kind of ethnocentric, and that’s kind of what I was getting at. Wicca and Paganism allow for us to construct our ideas of Goddess and God as we need them to be–like us, or a feeling, as you’ve described. Mainstream religions like Christianity don’t allow for this. Thanks for the comments!

    • Alaysa Thane says:

      I, too, agree. When I visualize the Goddess and God, I automatically draw what comes to me. With only pencil. That way, I have no idea what color She/He is or if she’s blond or not. I only see the kindness in Her eyes, or the way the moon glows off Her skin and the shadows that fall across His body from the light of the sun. It helps me visualize, but not enough where there is controversy on skin and hair color (race). Drawing makes everything easier(:

Leave a Reply

