What does a fallen pendant mean?

I will never forget my first trip to a Pagan store. I went with a co-worker who has been pagan most of her life shortly after I chose to become Wiccan. Viv had been there before, but I’d never encountered anything quite like that little hole in the wall place. The building itself had an other-world feel to it, and even now, remembering, I shiver. I loved it there.

Last time Viv had been there, the lady who runs the store had given her a pendant. I gathered it had been one of those things where she felt another had been in need of the spiritual qualities the stone possessed, and have given it up in good will. As I ran my fingers along the Books of Shadows, the lady asked if the pendant had served its purpose.

“Well, and it’s just the darnest thing,” Viv began, and I could feel the sudden tension in the room. “I was wearing it the other day, and it just plum fell off the chain. It startled me, because I’m usually so careful with my stones.”

There was a pause, and then the lady replied, “Perhaps it knew it wasn’t needed anymore.”

With those words, she dissolved the tension in the room, and absolved my coworker of any wrong doing. It was as simple as that. The stone wasn’t needed anymore. Twice recently, I’ve been reminded of this conversation when two of my own pendants have fallen from their chains without reason. One was my amethyst, which doesn’t have any links to be broken, and the second is my pentagram, which only has the one little loop connecting the pendant to the chain. Neither showed any signs of being physically broken, but both had loosened themselves from around my neck and nearly gotten lost.

This brings me to an interesting question: what does it mean when your pendant or stone falls from the chain? Is it a sign that you are no longer in need of whatever strength you were drawing from it, or is it perhaps the exact opposite? Then again, it could always just be a coincidence.

About Ayslyn'sCorner

I am an eclectic Pagan bordering on atheist who has made her way through a number of different spiritual spaces. You might wonder what a person self-identifying as an atheist has to discuss in a religion/spiritual context – and, well, so do I. That’s one of the things I aim to explore on Ayslyn's Corner. Check out Ayslyn's Corner at http://www.ayslynscorner.wordpress.com Check out Invisible Ink Blog at http://www.whitneycarter.wordpress.com Check out wombs in rebellion at http://wombsinrebellion.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Spiritual Question and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to What does a fallen pendant mean?

  1. M. Shaffer says:

    My husband had a similar thing happen recently his Pentagram vanished during a party and it showed up the next day in a friend’s corset. They joked that it meant her boobs need religion. But there could be something to that, maybe the universe was trying to send her a message.

    I would suggest doing a cleansing ritual on the jewelry, double check the clasp and if it happens a second time then the universe might be trying to tell you something too.

  2. A very interesting post! I have never experienced such a thing, but I would love to know the meaning of such an occurrence. A cleansing is a great idea, and I’m wondering about the result… did you have a re-occurrence, or was the cleansing a successful solution? Perhaps time will tell?

  3. Hillary says:

    I have a similar issue. Regardless of the type of jewelry, whether it is a necklace, or a bracelet whenever I wear pentagrams they fall off. it’s never any other type of stone or necklace just pentagrams. Even when I carried one as a keychain it fell off as well. This article in the comments were very helpful although I did plans several of the pieces and they still fell off so perhaps I wasn’t in need of the power that it was giving at a time.

  4. Rave says:

    I just did a cleansing of my house, children, myself and my stones. I went to put on my clear quartz crystal necklace I made, and while I was cleansing my other crystals, the necklace fell off. It’s like something gently unclasped it for me. I checked the clasp, it’s still strong and not broken. I’m not sure what that means.

    • I’ve had this happen before; it’s quiet mysterious. Generally losing a stone in such a manner indicates that you no longer need its support, at least in terms of the specific reason you chose to put it on. And an unbroken clasp means that the necklace should not be put away, but either repurposed in your own life or regifted to another who might need its metaphysical properties.

      Brightest blessings )O(

  5. Doe says:

    I am fairly new to this all and I’ve had my pentacle for a long time however recently it’s been breaking the chain or cord I have put it on. the first one was a leather cord and the second was a cord with a clasp. the clasp broke at work and it fell into my shirt but each time it happened at work and I wasn’t sure what to do. a friend said a cleansing should help but I haven’t had the chance to perform one. I’m also uncertain of how to cleanse it. would anyone care to tutor me?

Leave a Reply

