Self-dedication

It’s only been recently that I’ve come to really grasp the purpose for Ayslyn’s Corner. Originally, I created the blog to be my own little place of rebellion, but as I’ve grown in my faith, that’s changed. I want it to be a reflection of my journey—one that an increasing number of people are taking. I want the things that are posted to be things that I have experienced, created, discovered, even if a million others have already been there. It is a journey that, even though countless walk, the footsteps are never the same.

When I first became Wiccan, I began my year and a day. But it was a flippant, immature thing, and I couldn’t have taken it seriously if I wanted to. I was still living at home with staunchly Christian parents, cloistered into a bedroom with my two younger sisters. That is not the case for me now.

I have chosen a Book of Shadows. I have cast the cloth over my altar. I have lit the candles. I can now practice casting a circle, wield a wand and speak the words that have waited in my heart since my birth. They say that you will know when you are ready to begin your year and a day and perform the self-dedication ritual. I have set aside a date for mine: the next new moon, Jan 23rd.

The self-dedication is a highly personalized ritual in which an individual dedicated herself or himself to the study of magick, Wicca, witchcraft, Paganism, druidry, etc. It does not make you Wicca. It is like a driver’s permit; it’s a license to learn. It expresses your intent to the universe and all the gods, and solidifies it within yourself. It is the solitary equivalent of a coven’s initiation, and as such should be taken seriously.

Some say that a self-dedication is not a true initiation into the mysteries because it is performed solo rather than by a coven high priestess. Still, there are others who maintain they feel no need to do a self-dedication. Like everything in Wicca, it is up to the individual, and choices should only be made on what is within your heart and soul. My self-dedication is my declaration, and also my prayer of forgiveness for my flimsy affirmation years ago.

What has your experience with self-dedication been?

About Ayslyn'sCorner

I am an eclectic Pagan bordering on atheist who has made her way through a number of different spiritual spaces. You might wonder what a person self-identifying as an atheist has to discuss in a religion/spiritual context – and, well, so do I. That’s one of the things I aim to explore on Ayslyn's Corner. Check out Ayslyn's Corner at http://www.ayslynscorner.wordpress.com Check out Invisible Ink Blog at http://www.whitneycarter.wordpress.com Check out wombs in rebellion at http://wombsinrebellion.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in NeoPagan and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Self-dedication

  1. Lady Shardae says:

    Ah self dedication. I remember the first time I did my self dedication ritual and started my year and a day. I was 13 or 14 years old and wasn’t very dilligent about it. Since then, I think I have done 3 or 4 more year and a day studying, each time learning more and more. I’m in the middle of a year and a day right now, dedicatiing myself to learning more about the Craft then the religion side. In a couple months, if my high priestess deems me ready, I shall start another year and a day in a tradition (the Unfolding tradition which is a branch off of Draconian). I think it is the perfect way to learn something because it gives you focus. Each time, I dedicate myself to learning whatever it is I wish to learn and that dedication helps me stick with it.

    • That’s a neat approaching, going through multiple year and a days for different purposes. New practitioners will only read about one initial year and a day for self-dedication purposes.

Leave a Reply

