13…?

13 is a number often associated with Wicca that seems to repeat itself over and over. We have the 13 Principles of Wiccan Belief. There are 13 full moons in a year and some covens adhere to only having 13 members. Common superstitions associate bad luck with the number, exemplified by Friday the 13th, and some believe this is a direct association of Wicca. In the book Wicca: A Guide for the Solitary Practitioner, Scott Cunningham lists the 13 goals of a Witch (it’s on page151 for those of you who are looking). There’s no explanation for these goals, which tells me one thing—they’re personal, and therefore changeable.

In an effort to better understand myself and my goals, I adapted the list. Mine looks like this:

13 Goals of Ayslyn

I. Learn about myself

II. See the Goddess and God in everything and everyone around me

III. Become more adept at reading the tarot

IV. Learn to read rune stones

V. Learn to make incense

VI. Draw down the moon in the woods in peace

VII. Observe the Sabbats and Esbets with more dedication and preparation

VIII. Garden this year

IX. Collect all needed items for altar, even while learning to practice with only myself

X. Teach others who inquire about my faith

XII. Honor all life more actively

XIII. Learn as much as I can

What does your list look like? Is it goals yet to be achieved, or accomplishments that define you? Is your list comprised of ideals you wish to live by, or your daily to-do list?

About Ayslyn'sCorner

I am an eclectic Pagan bordering on atheist who has made her way through a number of different spiritual spaces. You might wonder what a person self-identifying as an atheist has to discuss in a religion/spiritual context – and, well, so do I. That’s one of the things I aim to explore on Ayslyn's Corner. Check out Ayslyn's Corner at http://www.ayslynscorner.wordpress.com Check out Invisible Ink Blog at http://www.whitneycarter.wordpress.com Check out wombs in rebellion at http://wombsinrebellion.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Spiritual Question and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to 13…?

  1. Lady Shardae says:

    Actually the 13 goals of a witch somewhat go with the Wiccan rede. Now I don’t agree with either of them completely as I tend to walk a left handed path but the 13 goals are kinda like the ten commandments…without the punishment being death if you break them. Your list of goals isn’t a bad thing to have either. It gives you an idea of where you wish to go. As for making incense, I can help you out with that if you would like. It isn’t difficult. Just need to know a bit about herbs 🙂

    • Any help you can give for making incense would be awesome! It’s one of the things I’ve always wanted to do, just never had the resources to actually try. I don’t know hardly anything about herbs though… :p that’s on the extended 13 list.

  2. Cassandra says:

    I really love your 13 Goals of Ayslyn list. When you mentioned that there are 13 full moons in a year, you forgot to say that usually, there are 12 full moons in a year, but sometimes there are 13 (when there is a 2nd full moon in a month called the “blue moon”). And in 2012, there is a blue moon on 31st August 2012, this is a very special event, worthy of celebration.
    Bright blessings.
    Cassandra

  3. Lucifervulus Sa'kagé says:

    It is commonly accepted that 13 os unlucky as, in the bible, there were thirteen people at the lasst supper.

    • Why is it that Christianity gets to decide what’s unlucky though? It seems ethnocentric to me.

      • Lucifervulus Sa'kagé says:

        I don’t think that it is so much a case of Christianity decides but that we live in a society and culture heavily influenced by Christianity. So a lot of those beliefs and values have become intergral with society as a whole.

  4. sammiwitch says:

    Your list is really interesting – thanks for sharing. Not only were there 13 people at the Last Supper, but Norse mythology also claimed that 13 diners at a table was unlucky when Loki turned up to a meal he hadn’t been invited to, bringing the total guests up to 13. The end result? By the end of the evening, one of the gods was dead. As for Friday the 13th, one of the reasons that it is said to be so unlucky is because it was the date that the arrest warrants were executed against the Knights Templar (in 1307) in effect wiping them out.

  5. Thanks for letting me camp out in your blog for a little while today. I had a great time and tried to leave my campsite as good as when I arrived. I’ll be back!

    • Thanks for visiting! I thought your approach to visiting others’ blogs was both neat and original, and I’m looking forward to camping out in your blog in the future. 🙂

Leave a Reply

