On Finding Wild Strawberries

Merry Meet everyone!

I admit I’ve been absent for several weeks, but it’s been a busy time. I moved back in with my family and things at the house are as hectic as always… With five kids and new litter of six kittens running around, it’s been kind of crazy. Not to mention my frantic search for a new job.

I had feared Ayslyn’s Corner might fall by the wayside until all this craziness subsided, but yesterday I was inspired. My youngest brother and I were walking through our woods, and I happened to notice a bit of red among the fresh, deep green of the newly awakened grass and brush. I bent down and—lo and behold, it was a wild strawberry! Logan and I were so excited that we went looking and found several other patches nearby. He wanted to pick them all, but I urged him to let them grow a little more. They’re tasteless little things right now, but this reminded me how much I wanted to learn about and cultivate my own herbs, eventually turning them into ointments, simples, tinctures, etc. And potions. There’s just something irresistible about making potions for me. 😉

So I’m doing a combination of an herb lore exploration and the Pagan Blogging Project, which started back in Jan. I’m also going to be re-evaluating my own life and trying to take a more holistic approach. Here are my basic goals going in:

Eliminate back pain

I suffer from chronic back pain. Always have. It’s bad enough that I have a hard time exercising, can’t sit or stand for short periods of time, and am in constant pain even on a good day. I thought it was normal to be in pain when you’re 21, but people keep telling me it’s not… *scratches head* Go figure.

Alleviate join pain

Same thing as the back ache; my joints always bother me. My mom has suggested fish oil for this, so that’s one thing I’d like to explore.

Find a cure for acne

I still suffer from acne, and my two teenage siblings have it as well. I figure this will be a good condition to try and treat, as I can test the effectiveness of whatever I cook up firsthand. Here, little guine pig siblings… 😉

Eliminate Diet Mt. Dew

I’m a shameless caffeine junkie because I get migraines without it. In the past, I’ve been able to wean myself off soda, but the first little sip always ruins weeks of pain and hard work. So, I’m setting out to find a healthier alternative to either get my caffeine fix or get my body over it.

Something for chiggers

I don’t know how many of you have ever had chiggers before, but… they’re a PAIN. They itch and look horrible, and tend to mass in the same area. A couple of years ago, I had a horrible number of chiggers along both of my ankles, and I still bear the scars. In preparation for my nature-loving summer, I’m going to need something to fend them off.

So deep breath, here we go. To start, I’m referencing three books. Any other suggestions would be helpful.

Herbal Medicine by Dian Dincin Buchman

Prescription for Nutritional Healing 3rd edition by Phyllis A. Balch and James F. Balch

The Illustrated Encyclopedia of Healing Remedies by C. Norman Shealy ( Ooh, pictures! 😀 )

About Ayslyn'sCorner

I am an eclectic Pagan bordering on atheist who has made her way through a number of different spiritual spaces. You might wonder what a person self-identifying as an atheist has to discuss in a religion/spiritual context – and, well, so do I. That’s one of the things I aim to explore on Ayslyn's Corner. Check out Ayslyn's Corner at http://www.ayslynscorner.wordpress.com Check out Invisible Ink Blog at http://www.whitneycarter.wordpress.com Check out wombs in rebellion at http://wombsinrebellion.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Wicca and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to On Finding Wild Strawberries

  1. Cassandra says:

    Nice to have you back! I love your new background image.
    Blessed be, Cassandra.

  2. It's a Wiccan Life says:

    Hello. I love that you have woods near by, and that they grow wild fruit. I too am interested in potions and herbs. And I can relate with the back and joint pain. oh and with the caffeine. lol. (I drink way to much tea, if I don’t have a tea I get massive head aches 😦 ). Love the spring-y background

    • Thanks! I love tea too, and I could probably substitute my Mt Dew with it, if it didn’t give me horrible heart burn, lol. What’s your favorite kind of tea?

      • It's a Wiccan Life says:

        Hello! I only drink/like orange pekoe- black tea, (red rose, irish breakfast, english breakfast). I’ve tried green teas and the fruity teas ect but I don’t like them much.

  3. Lady Shardae says:

    You most liekly get migraines as a symptom of caffiene withdrawal. If you have cronic migraines for another reason, then I would honestly go see a doctor. I have cronic migraines and I have to take two different medications to allieviate the problem. Caffiene used to work but they got so bad that caffiene only made them worse, go figure.

    • Caffeine withdrawal is indeed the cause of my headaches and migraines. So far, just keeping the stuff in my body does the trick, but I am waiting for the day when that doesn’t work anymore.

  4. I’m growing wild strawberries in my herb garden. (yes, that kinda contradicts the ‘wild’ part of that) My mammy in law found them growing near a railway and picked a couple, kept the seeds and grew them very successfully. Like any strawberry, they spread fast and wildly so she handed me some of the baby plants. That’s how I came to grow tame wild strawberries. ^.^ Thhey are very easy to grow along side any herbs, when you start your herb garden. ^.^
    Brightest Blessings
    Rowan
    x~x

    • That’s so cool! Though I would argue you could still count them as wild strawberries as long as you’re not altering them genetically or anything. But you’re completely right; they would be a wonderful addition to a herb garden. 🙂

  5. Have you seen a Doctor about your back? How’s your posture? I have suffered from back pain all my adult life, and mine is from poor posture, but over the years I have also developed some arthritis. Anyways, back to the posture thing, I recommend yoga, it helps strengthen your core as well as posture, balance, and in general, all over muscle tone, strength, flexibility, etc (joints too). Just an idea 🙂 I’m just learning this myself.

    • Back pain is a really common pain unfortunately, and I would wager a lot of it is due to poor posture and a lack of caution with moving or lifting things. While I certainly do have poor posture, I also have medically diagnosed spinal problems. We think alike though, because I’ve been trying yoga for strengthening and stretching, and I think it’s helping, when I actually do it regularly. 🙂 As with anything, keeping up a routine is the hardest part.

  6. Cassandra says:

    I know you haven’t created a post in a while, but I love your blog so much. I hope you will recieve this message:
    I have nominated you for the “Very Inspiring Blogger Award”. Congratulations! Visit my blog, Book of Shadows, for more information.
    Blessed be,
    Cassandra.

Leave a Reply

