Returning to the World

So… I’ve been gone a while. I knew the days were stacking up, but I hadn’t realized how bad it had gotten. Invisible Ink has suffered too, but not as bad as Ayslyn’s Corner. There’s no doubt life has been busy, but isn’t it always? I will admit that I’ve moved back in with my family, so my chances to practice any vestige of my faith are pretty much gone. But it’s a temporary situation, and it got me thinking that it’s one a lot of Pagans and Wiccans find themselves in, especially teens who want to explore. And that realization in turn gave birth to new ideas for AC.

How does one practice Wicca in a household that is not pagan in nature? My answer is always carefully. It’s a bad idea to burn bridges, especially between family members. And if you’re living at home on parents’ good graces…well you get the picture.

And so in addition to getting back on track with the wheel of the year, the moon and all the pagan chatter out there, we’re going to be looking at every day dealings for the Wiccan in a non-Wiccan world, including:

  • Hiding your resources and strategies for when they’re found
  • Finding sacred space and time in a crowded house
  • Conversation starters for telling friends and family you’re Wiccan
  • Techniques for shutting conversations down when they might be more harmful than helpful
  • A continued exploration into a more holistic life

So welcome back to Ayslyn’s Corner, keep writing and stay in the Mother’s light. 🙂

About Ayslyn'sCorner

I am an eclectic Pagan bordering on atheist who has made her way through a number of different spiritual spaces. You might wonder what a person self-identifying as an atheist has to discuss in a religion/spiritual context – and, well, so do I. That’s one of the things I aim to explore on Ayslyn's Corner. Check out Ayslyn's Corner at http://www.ayslynscorner.wordpress.com Check out Invisible Ink Blog at http://www.whitneycarter.wordpress.com Check out wombs in rebellion at http://wombsinrebellion.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Wicca and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Returning to the World

  1. It’s challenging but it sounds like you are facing it with a positive attitude. You will find a way, whether it’s practicing in a park, our in the solitude of your room. There are items in nature you can use for your altar and people are clueless. Blessings!

  2. Cassandra says:

    Hi! Yes, it’s really been a while since you created your last post here, but I love your blog, and I always read what do you have to say. And because of that, I nominated you for the “Very Inspiring Blogger Award”. To learn more, and see that rules, read my post: http://bookofshadowsblog.wordpress.com/2012/07/13/ive-been-nominated-for-the-very-inspiring-blogger-award/.
    Blessed be,
    Cassandra.

  3. It's a Wiccan Life says:

    welcome back 🙂

  4. paganquest says:

    Hey,
    Really enjoying your blog. I”m interested in a couple of forthcoming subjects you said you would be writing about, namely: Hiding your resources and strategies for when they’re found and Finding sacred space and time in a crowded house. I’m in a situation where my journey into paganism would not be welcome at all, and I’d like to hear about how others go about pursuing their paganism in secret.

    • Our situations sound similar, so I can sympathize with the stress and nerves associated with having to keep your faith and practices secret. I’ll move those topics to the top of my list so the articles should be up in the next week or so. Thanks for reading, and Blessed Be! )o(

Leave a Reply

