On Spontaneous Spell Casting

Sandra Bullock as Sally in the movie Practical Magic

“He will hear my call a mile away. He will whistle my favorite song. He can ride a pony backwards, he can flip pancakes in the air, he will be marvelously kind and his favorite shape will be a star. And he’ll have one green eye and one blue.”

“I thought you never wanted to fall in love.”

“That’s the point. The guy I dreamed up doesn’t exist. And if he doesn’t exist, I’ll never die of a broken heart.”

I love the movie Practical Magic, which is where this excerpt is from, for a number of reasons. This scene is from near the start, when little Sally has decided she never wants to fall in love after witnessing the wreck it made of one local woman.

The first time I saw the movie, I was still relatively new to the Craft, so my understanding of spells and magick was limited (as it is still now!) but this scene changed the way I thought about spells. New Wiccans and witches will default to finding an already existing spell from online or a book and tweak it to their own purposes, which is perfectly acceptable. There’s something to be said about structuring how you want to focus your attention and direct your energies. But this little scene reveals another way to summon up a spell—by the will of our own hearts and our own knowledge, out of the sheer joy of a moment.

Have you ever been inspired to offer up thanks for the sunshine on a beautiful day, or impulsively make a wish? I have, and it seems to me it’s a waste if you have to bottle that feeling for spell casting later when it’s the most potent in that one moment. As Wiccans we are in tune with the world around us, and the All that flows through that world. When inspiration strikes—we do not need to wait to act upon it. A spell cast with a smile and quickly pieced together rhyme is just as powerful as one performed within a circle and to a well-thought-out chant.

What are your own experiences with spontaneous spell casting? Have you given it a try lately?

About Ayslyn'sCorner

I am an eclectic Pagan bordering on atheist who has made her way through a number of different spiritual spaces. You might wonder what a person self-identifying as an atheist has to discuss in a religion/spiritual context – and, well, so do I. That’s one of the things I aim to explore on Ayslyn's Corner. Check out Ayslyn's Corner at http://www.ayslynscorner.wordpress.com Check out Invisible Ink Blog at http://www.whitneycarter.wordpress.com Check out wombs in rebellion at http://wombsinrebellion.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Wicca and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to On Spontaneous Spell Casting

  1. Morrighan says:

    ah okay so i’ll tell about this that happened when i was about 12. there were these 2 girls that were very mean to a lot of people,and i was a favorite target of theirs. well one day they were really mean more so than normal. i was at home dreading the next day because it would be more of their mean ways. so i was in the bathroom for privacy,because me and my sister shared a room…i was looking in the mirror not so much at myself as just sorta looking through my reflection, i don’t have a clue as to what i said or even how long i was standing in front of the mirror but the next day i got off the school bus and as i was stepping out its doors i saw them and thought there they are already!.i walked by them trying to be as unnoticeable as possible when one of then startled the crap out of me by speaking nice to me! she said hi susan,then the other one said that she liked my shirt. THIS from 2 of the meanest girls in the school! it was like they had never not liked me or made fun of me! and it was like that from then on. i was stunned to say the least and i keep thinking of that episode even to this day! so yep that was my first “spell”. i guess that’s what it could be called. oh and about the morrighan thing i never felt it again,but then i haven’t tried to communicate with her again either. Brightest Blessings…

    • Very cool, Morrighan! Did you ever become friends with any of those mean girls, just of our curiosity? If I were in your shoes, I might be interested to know what happened to each of them to change how they treated you, to see the other side of the spell, if you will. And when you do next try to communicate with your patron goddess, you will have to let us know how it goes! Blessed be )o(

      • Morrighan says:

        it was all about 35 yrs. ago now. i’m 49 yrs old. the only thing i can remember is that they were still mean to others but were nice to me when they saw me.i just was never real friends with them even after that whatever it was. i do know that they did not make it into ninth grade, i quit in the middle of ninth,but i know they were not there. i don’t know why except maybe they both failed eighth grade. actually i am trying to remember the both of their full names now…i got the idea from you to try to find them if they can be found by the maiden names. i left tenn. in 1990 and was married before that so i lost track of all the people i was in school with. there is so much i want to know and lots i wondered about with the way i survived things i should not have survived ,especially now that i’m not stopping myself from exploring this path, i will def keep you ladies up to speed on this
        Blessed Be…)o(

        • Try Facebook and Twitter, if you can remember their names, I’ve found several childhood friends that way, and some people have their profiles set to allow non-friends to see where they live and where they went to school, so those can help narrow down the search. You should also be able to search FB and Google for your school and see what you find. 🙂 Definitely let us know what you find!

  2. LC Aisling says:

    I love doing spells on a whim of a moment, when the need of your heart is to its fullest – one can never be so concentrated on the spell more than when your mind is fully occupied with it. This doesn’t mean you cast aside caution or don’t think through if you really need it or what concecuenses it might bring.
    But the way those spells work and those, where you specifically pull up energies – they have big difference.
    I think it was because of this movie too, that I stopped searching net for spells and began learning how to make my own. Like it shows there – even a simple leaf taken by the wind is a spell if you know why you do it.

  3. I remember the first spell I did on a whim. 🙂 I’d lost a kitten, who was barely eight weeks old and a storm was coming and I felt so scared for him. Then it got to me, I burst into tears – I was quite young and cats were my world – and this spell jumped into my head. I can’t remember it now, but I sat outside for ages – completely unwilling to move. And then, as happy as Larry, my cat jumped through the long grass to say hello. 🙂
    (I also love that film. I think it’s one of the most accurate films really in showing how we perform magic and what we believe lies behind it. And besides that, it’s just a great film!)
    Rowan
    x~x

  4. Cassandra says:

    Interesting that you have mentioned the Practical Magic movie. I just watched it on TV last Sunday. 🙂
    Anyway, I sometimes do so-called spontaneous spells. Mostly at school. It is actually more like a prayer that I repeat over and over again in my mind, and I always try to make the spell rhyme.
    Blessed be.

    • It’s interesting that you mention spontaneous spells feels more like prayer to you, because I feel the same way, but I’m hesitant to identify it as “prayer.” Perhaps another post idea here. :p

      And isn’t Practical Magic an awesome movie?! It’s one of those I could just watch over and over again.

      • Cassandra says:

        Practical Magic is indeed a great movie. I admit this was the first time I watched it (the movie was made in 1998, and I was too young then to remember), and I absolutely love their Book of Shadows. I could say I am more a Charmed than a Practical Magic fan. I watched all 8 seasons of Charmed, but I can’t way to see Practical Magic again too. 🙂
        I also remember I watched a movie with an evil warlock on SyFy channel maybe a year ago, but unfortunately I can’t remember the title. 😦 The movie was maybe from late ’80s or early ’90s (I think) and I really enjoyed it. It was maybe a little scary, but I’m a horror fan. 🙂
        Blessed be.

        • When I first started Ayslyn’s Corner I did a post on Wiccan and Pagan movies and TV shows after I watched a couple episodes of Charmed. Perhaps it’s time to rehash that one again. I’m going to have to see if I can find your scifi movie though–it should be somewhere online! 🙂

      • Cassandra says:

        I found the movie online. Its title is Warlock (1989): http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Warlock_(1989_film).
        If you wouldn’t mention you’ll try to find the movie online, I wouldn’t even remember to search there. 🙂
        Blessed be.

  5. 2 Witches in a Box says:

    Practical Magic.. one of my favorite movies too.. 🙂
    I find myself doing a lot of spontaneous casting but the problem I keep finding myself in, is not remembering what I just said!

    I fear I’ll be having to carry around a small tape recorder soon.. “I am parked in the K lot… dont forget to pick up creamer at the corner store.. full moon wrap, full moon bind.. cant remember so the tape I must rewind..”

    Those are the moments I wish I could remember the most as they feel the best.. the ones you pull out of your heart and let loose to the universe with smiles.

    Val.

    • Carrying a voice recorder is definitely a good idea. My cellphone has one, and I’ve been using it more and more lately. I also carry my Kindle and pen and paper with me at all times, for whenever inspiration strikes and for whatever medium it wants! Try the recorder and see if it doesn’t work for you. :p

Leave a Reply

