On Choosing a Patron Goddess

An image of the goddess Artemis

I’ve thought often about the choosing of a patron goddess. My philosophy for as long as I have been Wiccan is to honor the Mother, which in my mind is all the gods and goddesses, energies and powers of the world wrapped into the form of a wise and caring mother figure. When I was a teenager, this notion had particular appeal because I fought with my own mother a lot and felt I lacked that figure in my life. Now, as a (slightly) more mature adult, my relationship with my mother is much stronger, but I still identify with the Mother Goddess figure. And while I will never abandon Her, I have felt a need to choose a more established persona to identify with as well. More of a mother-daughter duality, if you will.

But how to go about something as important as this…? Do you choose a deity you feel you can identify with, or one you wish to emulate? What happens when you change, as we all do? I know some Pagans have more been chosen by their patron than chosen her themselves, but my instinct is that waiting is not the approach for me. I’m not good at waiting when my mind is set to something. And so the quest is in my own hands.

I was still somewhat adrift until a couple of days ago. I was on the phone with my mother, discussing the latest difficulties in trying to balance having two homes, when she told me all of this was happening because I’m strong and capable of handling it. Sentiments like this from her are rare, and hearing her say this both humbled me and broke my heart. But it also made me realize that a lot of my life over the past several years has been about finding my own inner strength.

With this in mind, I’m now reading like crazy about goddesses like Artemis, Demeter, Tara and Nike. I’m leaning toward Artemis at this point because of her association with the woods and animals, but haven’t set my heart yet.

There are a lot of things to take into consideration when trying to choose a patron god, but sometimes the best thing to go with is instinct. Instinct led me to Wicca, as it has led many others. It guides, protects, warns, cautions; it is the Divine’s way of speaking with us. Follow that little inner voice and be true to your heart and you will find all you seek in life, even a patron.

About Ayslyn'sCorner

I am an eclectic Pagan bordering on atheist who has made her way through a number of different spiritual spaces. You might wonder what a person self-identifying as an atheist has to discuss in a religion/spiritual context – and, well, so do I. That’s one of the things I aim to explore on Ayslyn's Corner. Check out Ayslyn's Corner at http://www.ayslynscorner.wordpress.com Check out Invisible Ink Blog at http://www.whitneycarter.wordpress.com Check out wombs in rebellion at http://wombsinrebellion.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Spiritual Question and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to On Choosing a Patron Goddess

  1. yepirategunn says:

    Wonderful concept..I might choose Äijattar, devil of the woods in the Baltic region!

  2. LC Aisling says:

    Äijattar or better known in Estonia as Old Devil’s mother or daughter (not to mix up with Christian devil – we have very different consept of devil in folklore and we call him Vanapagan), who sends around disease. If you see her and look at her, you immediatly fall ill. Oh, and she milks snakes and weavs fabric.

    Though not quite who I’d choose to be the main goddess, she is more related with geographical legends of why there are empty caves in South-Estonia.

    Yuup, just thought I would bring it out before you deside for her behalf.

  3. Tenaé says:

    In looking for a mother-daughter duality situation, you might look into Hera and Hebe. Although I don’t choose to have patron deities, those two would definitely be the top of my list if I did! They are a GREAT representation of the mother and maiden aspects as well as a lot of very feminine issues and concepts.

  4. Barry Hamm says:

    I recently started looking and the goddess Bastet has caught my eye.

    • Bastet is an Egyptian goddess, and one I unfortunately don’t know too much about. A lot of Wiccans are drawn to an Egyptian path though, so if you feel attracted to her, then read everything you can get your hands on for her.

  5. Peridot says:

    I’m so happy I read this!!! I have literally been going thru the same thing lately, and I too had a rocky relationship with my mom. When I converted to Wicca last year, I felt a strong bond to Gaea, almost as a surrogate. But now that things are better, I’m looking towards another deity as my focus.

    So happy I found someone going thru the same thing!!

  6. maleahholder says:

    Hello, my name is Maleah Holder. I am an unpublished author and to say the least, this article truly inspired me. As of recent, I have been writing a book about Greek gods, specifically Artemis and her daughter who is purely from my imagination. The image of the goddess Artemis at the top of this article struck me at beautiful and I am here to ask you if you would allow me to make it the cover of my book.

    • Hello Maleah,

      I’m pleased you enjoyed the article and found some inspiration from it. I put a lot of effort into everything on Ayslyn’s Corner and it means a lot to know when something I’ve written has touched another.

      As to the depiction of Artemis however, the image is not mine, so I cannot give you permission to use it. I’m actually not sure who the artist is, but if you do find him/her please let me know as I would like to give credit where it is due.

      Best of luck with your search. ❤ )O(

      • maleahholder says:

        Thank you so much, I hope you continue to write and share with the world all that you think. This is a great concept and I pray many others are touched by it. Have a great day, and I promise I will get back to you as soon as I find the artist. I deeply appreciate your honesty.

Leave a Reply

