Let’s Talk About Gardening

GardeningI know the season is all wrong at this point, at least in the northern hemisphere, to be seriously thinking about gardening, but consider it early planning for next year. I want to know how each of you gardens, if you’re able to. Do you focus on produce plants or flowers? How many different kinds of herbs do you grow? Do you compost? What to do you with your extra harvest? What plants seem to thrive for you, and what have you done to help the ones that seem to struggle?

I’m relatively new to gardening, and still not very good at it, because… well… I kill things. Some of you may remember my lavender plant. But I feel like gardening is a rather witchy thing to do, a way to keep in closer touch with the Earth Mother and be a little more self-sustained, to say nothing of the solace it offered over the summer while we dealt with the initial shock of losing our daughter.

This past spring and summer, I grew one tomato plant, four zucchini plants, and made a strawberry mound, with my herbs – chives, parsley and lavender – in a pot tower. The zucchini plants my parents planted down home in years past always produced way more than we could eat, so I planted a bunch anticipating being able to add even more green into our diets, but mine just didn’t produce. Four of them seemed to stop growing about a month after planting, and the one that got pretty big only ever flowered. We got one zucchini. ( 😦 ) I think we might have had a few more if it weren’t for the squirrels and rabbits that play in the yard. I was perfectly fine sharing some of my harvest with the little critters, but they ate virtually all of it.

Composting is something I began doing as part of my household green movement. I wanted to have two bags of recycle for every one bag of trash. That’s meant eliminating the amount of stuff we put into the garbage. And I realized that with our greener diet, we have a whole lot more kitchen scraps. So I started a compost bucket in an old flower pot. It quickly outgrew the pot though and was recently moved into a heap directly on the ground. I still need to get a tarp to cover it for the winter, but I figure the worst thing that could happen is I have a patch in the yard where there’s no grass, right?

So I want to know how you garden, how involved you are in the whole process, what your results are, the things you’ve observed, all of it. After all, knowledge is power, and if more people gardened we’d be healthier and so would the earth.

Photo credit: http://tinyurl.com/pky7gc9

About Ayslyn'sCorner

I am an eclectic Pagan bordering on atheist who has made her way through a number of different spiritual spaces. You might wonder what a person self-identifying as an atheist has to discuss in a religion/spiritual context – and, well, so do I. That’s one of the things I aim to explore on Ayslyn's Corner. Check out Ayslyn's Corner at http://www.ayslynscorner.wordpress.com Check out Invisible Ink Blog at http://www.whitneycarter.wordpress.com Check out wombs in rebellion at http://wombsinrebellion.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Gardening, Wicca and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

