Religion v. Spirituality

What do you think of this concept? “Religion is for people afraid of going to hell. Spirituality is for people who have already been there.”

Honestly I have found it to not only be profoundly true but also rather empowering. Even taking into consideration that each person has a different threshold for what they can reasonably endure, I can say with utter confidence and grave seriousness that I have been through hell and back, and it is not something anyone would want to claim. In this way, I have moved from needing the structure of an organized religion to teach me and enable me to touch the divine into being my own conduit for whatever change I need. That’s just my personal experience though, and a transition between organized religion and free-thinking spirituality can be as simple as a single person realizing that one doesn’t work for them but the other does.

This being said, I recognize that each person needs their own unique understanding of faith, and a lot of people need a social structure for that. From an all-accepting stance, is this idea simply a divider? Or is it an empowerment tool to those who do in fact take the road less traveled?

About Ayslyn'sCorner

I am an eclectic Pagan bordering on atheist who has made her way through a number of different spiritual spaces. You might wonder what a person self-identifying as an atheist has to discuss in a religion/spiritual context – and, well, so do I. That’s one of the things I aim to explore on Ayslyn's Corner. Check out Ayslyn's Corner at http://www.ayslynscorner.wordpress.com Check out Invisible Ink Blog at http://www.whitneycarter.wordpress.com Check out wombs in rebellion at http://wombsinrebellion.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Spiritual Question and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Religion v. Spirituality

  1. novaxocide says:

    I agree with the concept. Unlike religion, spirituality makes me feel free. Even though people are entitled to their own faiths. I think being conscious is the way to go (and this is coming from someone who has studied every religion and was raised in a Christian household). If I wanted a religion, I would prefer Buddhism because it’s the closest thing to consciousness and then again I don’t view Buddhism as a religion, it’s more of a philosophy. Great article!

Leave a Reply

